A rolling stone wears down

Nature has the capacity to show us our vulnerability and our purpose if we stay long enough.  Sooyang Park’s beautiful excerpt below from his most recent book, Great Soul of Siberia, gives us a glimpse of one man’s revelation.

Siberian Tiger

“The next morning, it was snowing. I tried to cheer up by telling myself that without a small but cozy space like this, I would have no chance in a snowstorm.  I repeated this to myself like a mantra: after this snowstorm and a few others, I’d be back at the base camp warming myself by a wood stove, drinking vodka, and falling into a deep, restful sleep.  The snowstorms saved me from my solitude.

“Time passed, and I was back to appreciating the comforts of the bunker.  Humans are endlessly vulnerable in nature, but when I was gazing out of my small space, a snowstorm in the uninhabited wild made pretty good scenery.  The stronger the wind and the wilder the snowstorm, the more the bunker felt like a warm, cozy bedroom.  People wonder why I would want to be in a filthy, uncomfortable hole like that, but its warmth was like a drug to me.

“A rolling stone gathers no moss.  But a rolling stone also wears down.  In our effort to live life to the fullest, we sometimes deprive ourselves of the time to reflect on what is truly missing in our lives and how to fill that void.  In life, it’s best to be a mossy stone sometimes.  Without taking the time to stay put and sink deep into the ground, you can lose your way.”

 

—-Sooyang Park, from Great Soul of Siberia: Passion, Obsession, and One Mans Quest for the World’s Most Elusive Tiger.

About Lightning Heart

Nomad. Poet. Philosopher. Teacher. View all posts by Lightning Heart

One response to “A rolling stone wears down

  • Gia

    “In life, it’s best to be a mossy stone sometimes. Without taking the time to stay put and sink deep into the ground, you can lose your way.”
    SO TRUE – I need to be a mossy stone and sink deep into the ground or else I just keep rolling rolling rolling…….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

