The prison

_86583254_prison

We create our prison out of these four walls: wanting, holding, attaching, and checking.

 

Wanting: I want a new car. I want to be happy. I want to XYZ. I want enlightenment.

 

Holding: She said this and I will never forgive her. Twenty years ago, he did ‘this’ and I will never forgive him.

 

Attaching: I must meditate for two hours a day or I will never attain enlightenment. I must chant for one hour a day or I will be a bad practitioner. I must give up X or I will never be blessed. I can’t miss my morning work-out or my day will be ruined.

 

Checking: I used to meditate more. I should be spending more time reading the sutras, the Bible, the blah, blah, blah. I need to exercise more, eat healthier. I shoulda coulda woulda. . .

 

Your prison has four walls. Those walls are wanting, holding, attaching, and checking. You are not your idea of yourself. You are not your thoughts. It is not good or bad. It just is as it is, right now. Be present for it.

About Lightning Heart

Nomad. Poet. Philosopher. Teacher. View all posts by Lightning Heart

Leave a Reply

